Grandma’s Cookies (Frito Lay (and PepsiCo)) Responds to Palm Oil Query

Grandma's Cookies

I bought the above product (sorry for the resolution issue) out of a vending machine.  Naturally, I couldn’t see the ingredients before I purchased it or I would have boycotted it.  Nevertheless, after I bought it, I saw that there was palm oil all through the product.  So I wrote my usual palm oil query.  It was sent to Frito Lay and PepsiCo.  (Mega corporations own everything.)  See one of my blog posts on this subject here:

https://gettingonmysoapbox.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/mega-corporations-own-everything/

Here’s their response:

Thank you for writing to us.

While we are working in a number of regions to convert to oils that are low in saturated fat, in some parts of the world, palm oil is often our only option. When we do purchase palm oil, we look for suppliers that operate responsibly and in a sustainable manner. That’s one reason PepsiCo is a member of the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO), which was founded in 2004 to increase the supply of sustainable palm oil products. Through the RSPO, we have committed to purchase exclusively 100 percent certified sustainable palm oil for our products by 2015. We are also a member of the Consumer Goods Forum (CGF), a manufacturing and retail industry group that has adopted a resolution concerning deforestation.

Hope this helps, Rick! We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay.

Best regards,

Linda
PepsiCo Consumer Relations
060653809A

I think this is heartening.  However, there are problems here:

1) I do know that we Rainforest Action Network activists are protesting PepsiCo for using conflict palm oil, so I’m not sure how much I believe this;

2)  The RSPO doesn’t mean shit to me.  It’s toothless, run by the palm oil companies and hasn’t stopped the deforestation, which has more than doubled in the last few years;

3)  In addition, I’m puzzled why this response is written in the FUTURE TENSE.  So I wrote the following:

Thanks for the info.
But why is this written in the future tense, as in “Through the RSPO [which is just a greenwashing organization run by palm oil companies] we have committed to purchase exclusively 100 percent certified sustainable palm oil for our products BY 2015”? (emphasis mine.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

