Kookaburra Licorice – Going Palm Oil Free!

Licorice!

Licorice! (Photo credit: alexmontjohn)

Finally some good news on the corporate/palm oil front!  So I found some Kookaburra Licorice in a local hardware store (of all places).  Being a big Aussie fan, I had to check out the bag — and read the label. There, in SECOND place, was the dreaded scourge of palm oil.  I jumped into action:  I wrote the company.  I got the runaround.  The American company said it’s manufactured in Australia, so they sent my inquiry there.  No answer for weeks.  I followed up just now.  Literally a few minutes later I get this answer:

The following is the information we received from the factory regarding your inquiry.

The Palm Oil is RSPO, but we are in the process of the supplier changing the raw material to remove the palm oil component, so that the liquorice is palm oil free. Hopefully this will be completed in the next 6 months.

Regards,
Anne

Kookaburra Licorice Company

So eat this to your heart’s delight! Outstanding news. Let’s get all corporations to take this plunge!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

