UPDATED 6/7/2013: Is an Oreo Worth the Life of an Orangutan?

Different sizes of Oreo cookies. From left: mi...

Different sizes of Oreo cookies. From left: mini, regular and double stuf. Français : Différentes tailles de biscuits Oreo. De gauche à droite : petits, moyens et double couche. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My girlfriend loves animals, the environment — and Oreos. She hears my ranting and raving against palm oil everyday. She said if I could prove that Oreos contained palm oil she’d stop buying them (god, bless her). So I wrote them an email. It was the same they sent me in 2008. So I looked on their website. Here’s this from their FAQ:

does kraft buy crude palm oil?

a:

No, Kraft does not purchase crude palm oil, but buys fats derived from palm oil from specialized suppliers. Our suppliers source their palm oil predominantly from Malaysia and Indonesia. Kraft buys less than 0.5% of worldwide production. In the United States, these fats are used in some of the cookies and crackers we produce.
 

is kraft aware of the impacts of deforestation as a result of the demand for crude palmoil? and what is kraft doing about it?

 
Kraft is aware of the ecological and social impacts of deforestation of tropical forests and shares the concern about the potential long-term consequences of this development. This is why we encourage our palm oil suppliers to address these concerns and participate in the “Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO)”. Roundtable members include the World Wildlife Fund, governments of palm oil producing countries, plantation owners, traders, the food industry and our most important palm oil suppliers.
 
Kraft supports the goals and efforts of RSPO to develop guidelines promoting responsible palm oil production. As such, we actively encourage our suppliers to pursue more effective enforcement according to the organization’s sustainability principles and criteria. That is why, in principle, we also support the call for a moratorium, as it is substantively in line with the Roundtable’s principles regarding conversion of rainforests and peatland areas for palm oil.
 
 
Personally, this doesn’t appease me. In fact, I have fun toying with the Oreo Facebook page, posting, “Is an Oreo worth the life of an orangutan?” repeatedly, testing the monitor’s quickness in deleting my repeated postings before anybody dare see them. (And so my guerilla campaign goes….) Hell, I’d boycott Oreos. I hate ’em anyway.
 
UPDATED 6/7/2013:   A kind reply below from a reader regarding Oreos and their ingredients made me go into a nearby supermarket to scope out “palm oil” in the ingredient label (since our household now boycotts them).  Sure enough it’s in there (at least here in California).  I’ll be writing to Kraft-Nabisco today to ask them what’s changed (if anything) after three elephants were poisoned this week in Sumatra, most probably by those murderous palm oil plantation workers treating them as pests.
 
 
Oreos
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to UPDATED 6/7/2013: Is an Oreo Worth the Life of an Orangutan?

  1. GiRRL_Earth says:

    Shit! I love Oreos and they are vegan. You mean to tell me Oreos have blood on them? FUCK! Now I feel like a ignorant a-hole.

  2. Marian MacKinnon says:

    I have a 7 year old that is trying very hard to eliminate all palm oil products (future environmentalist!) , I checked the label of Oreo’s and don’t see palm (or veg oil) listed, with the exception of the lower fat Oreos (which we don’t buy because of the palm oil). What am I missing on the label?

  3. I am vehemently opposed to conflict palm oil in products and shop deliberately with checking of the ingredients list on packaging before I purchase. I have recently purchased Oreos because they do not list any palm oil ingredients on the label here in Canada. Until I know for certain, Oreos will not be in my cupboard.

  4. Would be better for the environment and people’s health in general if they could used coconut oil instead. It’s more about the cheapness of the product though.

Leave a Reply

